Darts Betting Tips

Darts: PDC Blackpool World Matchplay

Darts PDC: Blackpool World Matchplay

On Saturday 21st July it’s time for the 2018 World Matchplay held in Blackpool. The schedule of play has now been full confirmed and we have a fantastic opening night to look forward to – with the battle of the Dutch men: Michael van Gerwen and Jeffrey de Zwaan.

The massive event will be held in Blackpool’s world famous Winter Gardens; it will be host to 32 of the world’s top players all competing live for the trophy that has been newly retitled the ‘Phil Taylor Trophy’ in honour of the most successful competitor of the history of the tournament.

The first round of the Word Matchplay will be held over three consecutive days, starting on the 21st July, then with a double session on 22nd July, followed by the final session on the 23rd July. The opening night is set to launch the tournament with a bang.

The very first match of the entire tournament will see Adrian Lewis, a former finalist, go head to head with James Wilson. This will then be followed by the very impressive Dave Chisnall, a four-time quarter finalist, face off against Keegan Brown. However, the match that everyone will be waiting to see will be between the World Number One, Van Gerwen, against Blackpool’s first timer, De Zwaan. This will be a real case of firm favourite against the underdog – so if you fancy trying out different darts betting strategies, aside from match winner, this is a great match to experiment with. This match will be followed by Jonny Clayton, another first timer, competing against the 2018 Premier League finalist, Michael Smith.

Sunday’s Double Trouble and Funday Monday

If you can bear the excitement after a heavy Saturday night’s darts session, then you’re in for a double treat on Sunday. The afternoon session will start off with the 2017 World Grand Prix champion, Daryl Gurney, taking on Steve West. This is followed by the second session, the evening session, which kicks off with the current World Champion, Rob Cross, take on Gary Anderson, a two-time World Champion.

Then we have Monday – the final day of the first round matches. This day will feature exciting pairings such as Peter Wright – last year’s runner up, who’ll be looking to go one better this year, against Jelle Klaasen. There’ll also be an exciting match between former champion, James Wade and Jermain Wattimena.

The Winners

When the first rounds are over, the tournament really starts taking off. On Tuesday, round 2 of the tournament will begin, which will see the 16 winners competing to make it to the final 8. The second round matches will be played across the Monday and Tuesday evenings. Here, the players from the top half of the draw will have their second matches on Tuesday, whilst those at the bottom half of the draw will play again on Wednesday.

The remaining 8 will then go straight through to the quarter finals, which will be played on Thursday and Friday, the semi-finals will be on the Saturday, and the eagerly anticipated grand finale will be held on Sunday 29th July.

So, what should you expect to get if you’re a tournament winner? Well, there’s a pretty impressive £500,000 prize pool this year, with £115,000 that will go straight to the outright winner. As well as this, any player that manages a 9-dart finish will be rewarded with a very generous £45,000 bonus.

Van Germen is the clear favourite to win, with odds of 8/11 being offered by Ladbrokes. This is closely followed by Anderson and Cross, who are second favourites with odds of 7/1 each from Coral. Wright comes in as fourth favourite with odds of 10/1 at 888sport.

World Matchplay Full Schedule

Round 1 – Saturday

Saturday 21st July 7pm Adrian Lewis 10:8 James Wilson


 Saturday 21st July 7pm Dave Chisnall 10:4 Keegan Brown


 Saturday 21st July 7pm Michael van Gerwen 6:10 Jeffrey de Zwaan


 Saturday 21st July 7pm Michael Smith 10:6 Jonny Clayton


Round 1 – Sunday Afternoon

 Sunday 22nd  July 1pm Darren Webster 10:6 Steve Lennon


Sunday 22nd  July 1pm Ian White 10:7 Max Hopp


 Sunday 22nd  July 1pm Gerwyn Price 3:10 Joe Cullen


Sunday 22nd  July 1pm Daryl Gurney 12:10 Steve West


Round 1 – Sunday Evening

 Sunday 22nd  July 7pm Mensur Suljovic 10:6 Steve Beaton


 Sunday 22nd  July 7pm Gary Anderson 10:7 Stephen Bunting


 Sunday 22nd  July 7pm Rob Cross 10:5 Mervyn King


 Sunday 22nd  July 7pm Raymond van Barneveld 10:6 Kyle Anderson


Round 1 – Monday

 Monday 23rd July 7pm Kim Huybrechts 13 – 12 John Henderson


 Monday 23rd July 7pm Simon Whitlock 10 – 2 Richard North


Monday 23rd July 7pm James Wade 12 – 10 Jermaine Wattimena


Monday 23rd July 7pm Peter Wright 10 – 5 Jelle Klaasen

Round 2 – Tuesday

Tuesday 24th July 7pm Dave Chisnall 11 – 8 Michael Smith


Tuesday 24th July 7pm Daryl Gurney 3 – 11 Joe Cullen


Tuesday 24th July 7pm Jeffrey de Zwaan 11 – 9 Adrian Lewis


Tuesday 24th July 7pm Gary Anderson 11 – 9 Raymond van Barneveld


Round 2 – Wednesday

Wednesday 25th July 7pm Simon Whitlock v James Wade


Wednesday 25th July 7pm Mensur Suljovic v Ian White


Wednesday 25th July 7pm Rob Cross v Darren Webster


Wednesday 24th July 7pm Peter Wright v Kim Huybrechts


Quarter-Finals – Thursday

Thursday 26th July 7pm TBC


Thursday 26th July 7pm TBC


Quarter-Finals – Friday

Friday 27th July 7pm TBC


Friday 27th July 7pm TBC


Semi-Finals – Saturday

Saturday 28th July 7pm TBC


Saturday 28th July 7pm TBC


Final – Sunday

Sunday 29th  July 7pm TBC